Transportation: East Delta Bus Company

8.25.10

We trekked from Luxor to Dahab by bus.  We knew going into to this ride that it would take around 14 hours to arrive at our destination.  By hour 20, I thought I was going to end up like the camel bones I was seeing on the side of the highway.  The drive was tempting us with glimpses of the cool waters of the Red Sea.  My reality at that time though was on a bus with faulty air conditioning.  At least I could think cool thoughts with the Red Sea as my muse.

On the upside, this trip afforded us a special experience to break bread with our Muslim brothers for Iftar in Qena, Egypt.  They fed us dates, beans, macaroni, bread, and what looked like cheek.  This is one experience that I will never forget!

Leave a Reply

