Here I go…again!

A lot has been going on recently in my quest to travel the world in order to expand my knowledge and, subsequently, any curriculum that I teach.  With that goal in mind, I applied for a fellowship through the US Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs’ Teacher’s for Global Classrooms program-and I got it!  There are approximately 60 educators from across the nation participating in this year’s cohort to discover new and innovative ways to globalize education within the US.  One component of the program is to travel abroad to study another country’s education system; the six countries this programs works with are Brazil, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Morocco, and the Ukraine.  After completing two months of coursework for the program and eagerly awaiting word of our partner country, we were finally notified of our country placement and I will be traveling to Ghana in March 2012.  Upon my return, I will compile a Global Education Resource Guide for my school based on the coursework, symposia in DC, travel to Ghana, and my own perspectives on it all!  It has been quite the whirlwind experience so far…

Be on the look out for posts about Ghana and my thoughts about our current educational system leading up to my departure date in March.

For more information about this program, check it out here:  Teachers for Global Classrooms

As always, comments are welcomed!!!

*These posts are not affiliated with the Teachers for Global Classrooms program or the US Department of State.

Leave a Reply

