Taste of Manhattan: Neely’s Barbecue Parlor

I wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into by going to a barbecue restaurant on the Upper East Side. What I found was a genuine attempt at bringing regional barbecue to NYC. The menu offered options of Memphis and Kansas City style ribs and Texas smoked brisket in addition to your traditional southern fare of collard greens, yams, and macaroni and cheese.

20120212-115258.jpg
The Neely’s Barbecue Parlor in NYC

My friend Nikki and I opted to start the meal with barbecued chicken wings and fried pickles. The wings were covered in a sweet barbecue sauce, but the fried pickles stole the show. Not many places in NYC offer this southern delicacy, so I am glad to see that the Neely’s operation is doing it well. The pickles were able to retain a sense of its original crispness all the while being fried.

20120212-115102.jpg
Chicken wings at the Neely’s Barbecue Parlor

20120212-115204.jpg
Fried pickles at the Neely’s Barbecue Parlor

After enjoying the appetizers, the main event arrived at our table: ribs! While my friend ordered the Memphis style ribs dry, I ordered the Memphis wet. Being a KC native, I was a little weary of the ribs in general, specifically the KC ribs described as St. Louis baby back ribs in a sweet and spicy sauce. No thank you. Fast forward to the order-the sauce was more along the lines of a KC style sauce and the meat was still on the moist side so I was pleasantly satisfied.

20120212-120415.jpg
Memphis style ribs “wet” at the Neely’s Barbecue Parlor

20120212-120601.jpg
Memphis style ribs “dry” and a side of macaroni and cheese at the Neely’s Barbecue Parlor

When I get that hankering for barbecue while in the city, I will definitely visit the Neely’s!

1 comment
  1. Mom said:

    Glad you enjoyed….still, there’s nothing quite like KC (specifically LC’s) barbeque. Just sayin’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

