Akwaaba, Ghana!

Akwaaba, or welcome, to my first post from Ghana! I am currently in Accra and am liking what I’ve seen so far (the airport, my hotel and Accra Mall). However, as usual with my travels, something always makes it interesting: example-the woman that passed out on my flight to Egypt and subsequently delayed us fir five hours. Well, this time I delayed myself. My flight was due to depart from JFK at 6:59pm Saturday evening. Guess who didn’t start packing until 3:00pm. That’s right. It was a HAM of a situation. I got to the airport at 6:00pm on the dot, checked in without waiting and encountered a check-in agent that could not figure out how to change the roll of paper to print the bag tags. Womp womp. I made it to my gate and realized I lost my boarding pass for my flight to DC. Triple womp. Thankfully, it was no sweat to have the gate agent print another pass. I finally got to DC and began to relax until I boarded the non-stop flight to Accra. My good friend Shannon warned me about United’s less than stellar international on-board services. I’m going to leave it like this: the meal options were chicken, pasta, or vegetables. The manner in which they were prepared is not important I guess. With that said, I slept for the majority of the ten hour flight and was immediately welcomed to Ghana with a smile from everyone I encountered. The hotel, complete with air-conditioning and flat screens tvs, is a welcome respite in this bustling city that I am looking forward to exploring over the next two weeks. I will be getting an overview of the country from one of the hosts tomorrow in addition to attending meetings at the US Embassy, so I have to get some rest!

20120304-213841.jpg
View of Accra from my hotel room. Goodnight, Ghana!

This blog is not an official U.S. Department of State website. The views and information presented are the grantee’s own and do not represent the Teachers for Global Classrooms Program, IREX, or the U.S. Department of State.

2 comments
  1. Following every step of your travels in and around Ghana. Cannot wait to catch up when you are back. Perhaps we can do a quick video for ProjectExplorer.org on your experience!

    Also

    “I made it to my gate and realized I lost my hoarding pass for my flight to DC.”
    How do I hook up a “hoarding pass” on my next United flight.

    • I would love to shoot a quick video when I get back! Let’s talk. And I can hook you up with hoarding passes! Auto-correct is something else coupled with jet lag! Thanks for catching that đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

