Taste of Accra: Buka

Oops, I did it again! Yes, I ordered the same exact meal as the previous night, but it was so nice I had to have it twice. This time we dined at Buka located in the Osu neighborhood in Accra. Again the meal was delicious. The fish was fresh and grilled with a tomato and onion relish adorning the meal. Tonight I ordered fried yam alongside it as well. Delicious. The three sauces it came with really complemented each the yam and fish.

20120308-002831.jpg
Tilapia with fried yam at Buka. Accra, Ghana

The Kelewele was on point as well. I might venture to say this is the best I’ve had so far.

20120308-002957.jpg
Kelewele at Buka. Accra, Ghana

The restaurant is quaint. We ate outside on the roof which provided a nice breeze from the nearby Atlantic and a view of street life in Osu. This is another must when in Accra!

20120308-003245.jpg
Buka in Osu, Accra, Ghana

Don’t believe me? Check out this review from NPR.

This blog is not an official U.S. Department of State website. The views and information presented are the grantee’s own and do not represent the Teachers for Global Classrooms Program, IREX, or the U.S. Department of State.

2 comments
  1. I love the pics of the food. To me, culinary arts are one of the best ways to get to know a culture (and not just because I like food). Food speaks to agricultural systems and sense of space. It speaks to cultural, social, religious norms in what is selected to eat, how it is prepared and how it is consumed. Economics are also involved within food…who within society is able to eat different types of food? So keep posting the food pics amidst all of the other amazing components of this journey.

  2. SD said:

    Aaron, These are great pics! I am glad that this journey has given you the opportunity to reflect on your work as a teacher & teacher leader. I look forward to hearing about this reflection. Best!

Leave a Reply

